PDA

View Full Version : Exploding Roof

Sarah
07-11-2004, 06:51 PM
someone just said something to me about the roof on for2's exploding, kinda worried about it now, anyone know anything more about this? sorry if this is an old issue, but im only a new smart driver :?

notts-smartie
07-11-2004, 07:09 PM
Mmm... "exploding".... perhaps the term used on Watchdog?

If you have a glass roof, like myself, you have to be aware that toughened glass shatters (into tiny, but harmless crystal-like peices rather than shards), unlike the windscreen, which is laminated and will just crack.

Anyone remember the old-style toughened glass windscreens? If a stone hit it, it would shatter.... or as some say... "explode".

If you look at the smartie's glass roof, you'll notice it has a curved section at the front of the car where it meets the windscreen. It's this curved part of the roof that's most vulnerable from being hit by a flying stone, which in some cases, if hit in the right place and hard enough, will cause the roof to shatter.

Smart have recognised this problem and will fit a 6(ish) inch strip of protective vinyl to the leading edge of your roof upon request - which they'll then charge you for!

The thing to remember is that they don't "explode" on their own, but as with everything, there's a risk to having a glass roof.... glass breaks. You can minimise the risk of it happening by having the strip fitted, but that's not going to eliminate the risk all together.

If your roof does go, then if you have windscreen cover on your insurance, they should replace the roof under that cover, although it may take time as most windscreen replacement Company's don't carry the roof in stock.

Enjoy your smartie and don't worry about the roof. :)

cheers,

D. :dude:

SuperStevie
07-11-2004, 07:11 PM
I hav heard something about this. Im ssure mk7's come with some protective layer on it to stuff stones

Im sue someone more knowledgable will come along and tell you more:)

notts-smartie