Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 60

Thread: 2010 cdi passion

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    North Weald, Essex
    Posts
    92
    I recently had a long running boost problem with my petrol 450. What would happen was when I tried to pull away quickly the car would go into a sort of limp mode. It seemed to restrict the throttle opening so you had to put your foot down a lot further to drive normalish. If I drove softly, accelerating gently, the car would be fine.
    Eventually I found the pipe that goes from the turbo to the cycle valve had perished. It looked fine but if you pulled it, it would be very stretchy at one point. I replaced this pipe & it has been fine since.
    What I think was happening was that the MAP sensor would see a sudden increase in pressure, tell the cycle valve to open so sending pressure to the wastegate. But there wasn't enough pressure in the system to open it, therefore over boosting & sending it into safe mode. When driving gently the pressure had time to build in the system so it was fine. One clue for me was I never seemed to get the same boost on my gauge, it varied from a max of 1bar to 1.4bar. Now I always get a max of about 1bar no matter how I drive.
    Don't know if this helps in any way.



  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    hythe kent
    Posts
    27
    thanks mr t,
    this is a late cdi 2010, but thank you so much for replying

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    hythe kent
    Posts
    27
    so i carried on removing parts to get access too check the rest of the loom to the sensors, and someone has blanked off the egr, now i thought you had to do more than just blank it off, a emulator or a electrical device to fool the ecu signals that the ecu is still looking for ?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Burnley
    Posts
    1,159
    There is no point in just blanking it off, you need to fit a small circuit to fool the MAF sensor that the EGR is still working or you will get faults.

    Blanking it off is also not necessary, just leave it where it is and unplug it then fit the small circuit.

    Having said that, eventually you will need to either blank off both ends of the cooler or remove it because the water jacket in there will eventually leak stuffing antifreeze into you cat, not good to let that happen.

    There are threads on the circuit in the forum somewhere I think.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    hythe kent
    Posts
    27
    no ,this I what I found ,not what iam fitting, ?? I don't think there is a solution for the 2010 onwards, your referring to the electrical emulator in circuit and the blanking off on the earlier smart cdi, ,,
    Last edited by martininkent; 31-05-2017 at 09:30 PM.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Burnley
    Posts
    1,159
    Quote Originally Posted by martininkent View Post
    no ,this I what I found ,not what iam fitting, ?? I don't think there is a solution for the 2010 onwards, your referring to the electrical emulator in circuit and the blanking off on the earlier smart cdi, ,,
    That I have fitted to mine which is identical to yours.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    hythe kent
    Posts
    27
    you have what fitted to yours ? a plate ? or the whole kit ? see below .

    https://tafmet.pl/english/egr-simula...553474275.html

    where did you wire in the emulator ?
    thanks

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Burnley
    Posts
    1,159
    I have a two resistors and a diode connected to the live - EGR active - MAF sensor. I have no idea what that box is but for sure it is 100 times the cost of making one. I have no blanking plate, no need, the EGR vacuum switch si not connected to anythign so it can never open. It will eventually leak when the water jacket on the cooler corrodes through and I will remove it and plank off the pipe from the exhaust at that time.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    hythe kent
    Posts
    27
    got the parts today, so iam going to have a go at doing it tomorrow, wiring diagram seems a bit wrong to me ?

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    hythe kent
    Posts
    27
    if yours is the same as mine which wire did you use on the maf sensor , there is 4 not 3 as the diagrams says ? thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •